Luleå University of Technology is Scandinavia’s northernmost Institute of Technology, based in Norrbotten County, Sweden. The university has four campuses located in the Arctic Region in the cities of Luleå, Kiruna, Skellefteå and Piteå.

The university was originally established in 1971 under the name Luleå University College and had its first campus in the suburbs of Porsön in Luleå. A few years later it merged with the Teacher’s Training College of Luleå and the School of Music of Piteå. In 1997, the institution was granted full university status by the Swedish government and thereafter was renamed as Luleå University of Technology.

Luleå University of Technology has grown from strength to strength, with world-leading competence in several research areas. Our scientific and artistic research and education programmes are conducted in close collaboration with international, national and regional companies, public actors and other leading universities.

More information: